SunBengSitting

© Anna Hein

SunBengSitting is a piece straddling yodelling, folk dance and contemporary dance, a trip to the past and a playful, humorous search for identity. 

Austrian farm boy and performance artist Simon Mayer invites the audience to get to know his life, his contradictions and his indignation at having to submit to categories and conventions.

Having grown up on a farm facing traditions, nature, youthful rebellion and a bucolic heavy metal band, Simon Mayer moved to Vienna in 1997, attended Vienna’s State Opera’s dance school, spent a season as an aspiring dancer in the corps de ballet and very unexpectedly landed in a world where the word “farmer” could be used as an insult. The move was equal parts deliverance and constraint.

SunBengSitting – “Sunbeng” is a word in the Upper Austrian dialect that means the bench in the sun in front of the farmhouse – deals with questions that emerge between the poles of city and country, homeland and foreign lands, pigeonholing and artistic freedom.

Performance, Artistic Direction, Music Simon Mayer
Sound and Live-Loop Pascal Holper
Light Lucas Gruber, Hannes Ruschbaschan
Production Sophie Schmeiser
Touring production Sophie Schmeiser, Hiros
Artistic Guidance Frans Poelstra

With the support of Elio Gervasi/raum 33, ROSAS, Kunstenzentrum BUDA, shareyourdarlings Plattform. A co-production of Kopf hoch/Simon Mayer, brut Wien, FREISCHWIMMER 2014/15 and Im_flieger.

With the kind support of the Austrian Province of Upper Austria, the Office of the Federal Chancellor, the Austrian Cultural Forum in Brussels, the Capital CulturalFundandthe Governing MayorofBerlin-Senate Chancellery- Cultural Affairs. Thanks to Kulturverein SPIEL, Trachtenverein Altstädter Bauerngmoa, Goaßschnalzer Munderfing, Pramtaler Volkstanzgruppe, Fam. Mayer, Christian Schmeiser and Josef Schild.

© Gerhard F. Ludwig
© Gerhard F. Ludwig
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Anna M. Fiala
© Anna M. Fiala
© Anna Hein
© Anna Hein

Traditions and Rituals

Workshop

The Schuhplattler is more than just a traditional courtship dance from the Alpine region and should no longer be only reserved for men. So how can we change it? We will learn traditional Schuhplattler, invent new ones and enrich it with related forms such as body percussion, contemporary dance, improvisational elements and ritual practices, without losing the fun and group dynamics of folk dances. But it is not only the Schuhplattler! We experiment with yodeling, Juchatzen, traditional clapping rhythms (Paschen) and whiping! Same here: we will learn the traditional form and combine it with other elements. In the workshop technical, spiritual and ritual aspects as well as healing approaches of these traditions are taught.


Tour Dates

Date City Venue Country
15.10.2022 Potsdam unidram Germany
11.07.2022 Vienna ImPulsTanz Austria

SunBengSitting

SunBengSitting ist ein Stück zwischen Jodeln, Volkstanz und zeitgenössischem Tanz, ein Trip in die Vergangenheit und eine spielerische, humorvolle Identitätssuche. 

Der österreichische Bauernbursch und Performancekünstler Simon Mayer lädt das Publikum ein, sein Leben, seine Widersprüche und seinen Unwillen, sich Kategorien und Konventionen zu unterwerfen, kennenzulernen.

Aufgewachsen auf dem Bauernhof zwischen Brauchtum, Natur, jugendlicher Rebellion und ländlicher Heavy-Metal-Band, zog Simon Mayer im Jahr 1997 nach Wien, besuchte die Ballettschule der Wiener Staatsoper, war eine Saison Aspirant beim Corps de Ballet und war ganz unerwartet in einer Welt gelandet, in der das Wort „Bauer“ auch ein Schimpfwort sein kann. Der Umzug war Befreiung und Einschränkung zugleich.

SunBengSitting – „Sunbeng“ ist oberösterreichischer Dialekt und gleichbedeutend mit der Bank in der Sonne vor dem Bauernhof – verhandelt die Fragen, die im Spannungsfeld von Stadt und Land, Heimat und Fremde, Schubladendenken und künstlerischer Freiheit entstehen.

Performance, Choreografie, Musik Simon Mayer
Ton und Live-Loop Pascal Holper
Licht Lucas Gruber, Hannes Ruschbaschan
Produktion Sophie Schmeiser
Touring Sophie Schmeiser, Hiros
Künstlerische Beratung Frans Poelstra

Unterstützung Elio Gervasi/raum 33, ROSAS, Kunstenzentrum BUDA, shareyourdarlings Plattform. Eine Koproduktion von Kopf hoch/Simon Mayer, brut Wien, FREISCHWIMMER 2014/15 und Im_ flieger.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Landes Oberösterreich, des Bundeskanzleramts, des Österreichischen Kulturforums Brüssel, des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten. Dank an Kulturverein SPIEL, Trachtenverein Altstädter Bauerngmoa, die Goaßlschnalzer Munderfing, Pramtaler Volkstanzgruppe, Fam. Mayer, Christian Schmeiser und Josef Schild.

© Gerhard F. Ludwig
© Gerhard F. Ludwig
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Florian Rainer
© Anna M. Fiala
© Anna M. Fiala
© Anna Hein
© Anna Hein

Traditionen und Rituale

Workshop

Der Schuhplattler ist mehr als nur ein traditioneller Balztanz aus dem alpenländischen Raum. So soll er auch nicht mehr nur den Männern vorbehalten sein. Wie also kann man ihn verändern? Wir werden traditionelle Schuhplattler erlernen, neue erfinden und diese mit verwandten Formen wie Body Percussion, zeitgenössischem Tanz, improvisatorischen Elementen und rituellen Praktiken bereichern, ohne dabei den Spaß am Tanz und die Gruppendynamik von Volkstänzen zu verlieren. Es bleibt aber nicht nur beim Schuhplattler! Auch mit Jodeln, Juchatzen, traditionellen Klatschrhythmen (Paschen) und Peitschen wird experimentiert! Hier werden wir ebenfalls die traditionelle Form lernen und dann mit anderen Elementen verbinden. Im Workshop werden sowohl die technischen Aspekte erlernt als auch die spirituellen und rituellen, bis hin zu den heilsamen Ansätzen dieser Traditionen.


Spieltermine

Datum Stadt Location Land
15.10.2022 Potsdam unidram Germany
11.07.2022 Wien ImPulsTanz Austria